Will AI Denoise and Sharpen help with my Halftone Problem?

Hello,
I am new to the forum and have specifically joined to see if any of the AI products could help me with regards to removing/improving old halftone pictures.

I must admit that I am a complete novice when it comes to any kind of photographic restoration etc, however, I have tried working on the pictures using Gaussian Blur or an FFT filter and then trying to re-sharpen them but the results are not very good.

I was wondering if AI Denoise and Sharpen might be the way forward. They are very low DPI, but will be printed out at approximately 50mm x 80mm onto plain white paper. I had wanted to post an example here but it appears that I am not allowed.

If anyone would be kind enough to offer any help or advice it would be appreciated,

Regards,

Peter.

Half-tone is a printing process similar to what is used in newspapers, magazines, etc.
where a series of ink dots may appear as a solid to the eye without magnification… A photograph is very different. Topaz is geared toward photographs and I’d say that the products mentioned would not be of any help in what I think you are trying to do.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Eleanor. I was just wondering if that after applying Gaussian Blur or possibly FFT that either or both Denoise/Sharpen might have brought back some sharpness to the images. I just wish i could post an example on the forum where someone with more experience and who has these programmes might be kind enough to do a little experimenting.

regards,

Peter.