Topaz Photo Mac Version 3.01 - Save Image Loop

Just updated to Topaz Photo AI v 3.0.1 and now when I edit an image > save image > close image Topaz continually asks to save the image.

  1. Load an image
  2. Edit the image
  3. Save the image
  4. Close the image

Topaz Photo AI Mac v 3.0.1

Hi Michael, you bring up a good point.

I just tested and here’s what I see (also Mac, Ventura).

Export after making edits:

Screenshot 2024-04-26 at 4.15.33 PM

Close the export dialog:

Screenshot 2024-04-26 at 4.16.03 PM

Try to close the still-open image:

Screenshot 2024-04-26 at 4.16.14 PM

If you click Save, you end up in the same Export dialog.

I guess I’m so used to exporting and clicking Don’t Save afterwards that I didn’t notice the loop before. This (among other UI oddities) needs addressing.

I was not able to replicate this workflow and error message on my machine. Would you mind please taking a screen recording of this behavior so I can see exactly what is happening in order to share this with the developers:

Loom is a great free application for this: Loom | Free Screen & Video Recording

Hi John, Here’s a screen recording. Before the most recent version, I would export/save and then close the image with no issue. Now, when I export/save and then close the image, it continues to ask me to save the file.

The resulting files from the example in the screen recording.

(Attachment Topaz Photo AI - Save Issue - 04-30-2024.mp4 is missing)

It appears that the screen recording did not attach to this thread.

You can securely submit your file(s) to my Dropbox using the link below. Please be sure to send me a note to let me know you sent something.

Dropbox File Request

I’ll be on the lookout for your response.

Just uploaded the file - thanks John

Thanks for sending in that screen share. After you click Save in the Export window, are you able to check and see if the image is being exported to the folder designated by the Save to option? I was trying to replicate this issue you are reporting on my machine by following the same workflow and still have not been able to replicate.

Hi John -

Ok, I went through the process again.

• Opened an image.
• Added “adjust lighting” enhancement
• Export > Save to “original folder,” which I normally do.
• Closed save window
• Closed image
• Got the “Save” prompt
• The “Topaz” image was in the original folder as expected

And I tried another thing

• Opened an image
• Added “adjust lighting” enhancement
• Export > Save to a new folder I created
• Closed the save window
• Closed the image
• Also got the “Save” prompt
• The “Topaz” image was in the new folder as expected

And finally, one more thing

• The steps above are all the same except I changed the “Export > Save” folder to one on my Mac’s drive vs. an external drive
• Got the same “Save” prompt as well when closing the image

I thought maybe it was caused because either I was always saving to the “original folder” or saving to an external drive - but apparently, this is not the case.

Let me know if you want me to try anything else.

Thanks.

Mike

Second Save -

[Please describe your issue here. Try to include logs (Help → Logging) and add screenshots if necessary.]

Steps to reproduce issue:

  1. After selecting Export Image, then click Save Button.
  2. Select AutoPilot to close image, I’m asked to save again.

Topaz Photo AI [v1.x.x] on [Windows/Mac]