Topaz isaving files at 92 dpi; the original file is 300 dpi and I need to supply 300 dpi file. How do I fix this?

[Please describe your issue here. Try to include logs (Help → Logging) and add screenshots if necessary.]

Steps to reproduce issue:

1. Step 1 Edit 300 dpi photo in Topaz using auto pilot
  2. Step 2 Save photo
  3. Step 3

Topaz Photo AI [v1.x.x] on [Windows/Mac]

You’ll need to supply more detail to identify the cause of this issue.

If I save a tiff or jpeg in PhotoAI the DPI metadata stays unaltered in the output file, but saving as png strips out most metadata from the file including DPI (not unusual for a file format mostly used for web graphics rather than printing).

How are you checking the DPI metadata?

I am a novice at this. I am selecting a jpeg file with 300 dpi, running it through Topaz using the autopilot, usually, and then saving the file - still jpeg - with a new name extension -topaz. When I look at the saved file, sometimes it has the same dpi and sometimes it has a dpi of 96. I want to take the topaz jpeg file and put it into a word document which I am using Bookbaby to publish. The editors at Bookbaby tell me that my pictures should be at least 300 dpi if possible.
I don’t understand how the new topaz files, which are larger in size and look better, have a lower dpi?

Oh, and I check dpi by opening the picture and then asking for file information.

Betty… You need to tell us more info… What OS are you using? What program are you using to “open” the picture with? DPI is only relative to resolution in the sense that it’s a “printer” metric… and resolution is measured in pixels/in… What are you using to “create” the picture??? A camera? A cell phone???

DPI is just a tag in a file that can tell a piece of software such as a printer interface or desktop publishing what size the image should be on a printed page, but it doesn’t change the actual image file on your system.