Photo (Scanned etc.) Restoration

Hi Guys.

I’ve been experimenting with the Photo AI demo for the last few days trying to clean up a photo but I’m not having a lot of luck. I’m hoping that someone might be willing to take a shot at it. I’ve included the original photo and the same photo with the background removed. The background is pretty messed up. I would appreciate any help you can provide,

Photo AI is not designed to clean up photos. It is for noise removal, sharpening and upsizing.

You should try to upsize as that may remove some of the speckles and artifacts.

You really need an application where you can repair, fill, blend layers and clone such as PS, Affinity etc.

I’m not very experienced with this sort of thing. I have PS and am currently experimenting with the Affinity demo as well. Have been experimenting with Gigapixel AI as well. Thought that Photo AI would be a better choice as it seems to have all the tools in one place.

Photo AI is not really the program to use for photo restoration. If you want something that is automated then you can try the Photo Restoration filter in the current Photoshop. Open your photo in Photoshop and then go to Filters | Neural Filters. Then at the bottom select Photo Restoration Beta. It is automatic, but there are 6 sliders that you can use to make some adjustments. I have no idea if it will help you, but since you already have Photoshop then give it a try.

If the result is pretty good then you may try Photo AI on the resulting image to see if it can be improved some more.

Thanks for this. I’ll give it a shot. I think I have 2019 but no harm in checking for this filter.

It’s not in 2019…It was only introduced to the Beta users in June of 2022

It’s not perfect but I’ve cleaned it up a bit. Done in PaintShop Pro.

BTW, I left the spot on her forehead as I wasn’t sure if it was an artifact or a birthmark.

5 Likes

It’s a real nice job, Kathy.

1 Like