Feedback on Sharpen AI

I am usually a stand alone product user, so I didn’t try this product with Photoshop.
The product really delivers good results, but it’s a pitty it won’t open a raw photo.

My personal idea is the following:

Let’s get to a simple example, I photographed my husband with my handheld camera, (canon 5dsr and as I was doing simplistic photography, the lens was just a 50mm. The photo is a bit blurred. I opened in Sharpen Ai and try the three different options you get.

On one hand the results, are different but deliver what’s promised.
The program is really slow and quite heavy, as the memory it used was around 7.60 gb in my Imac 64 ram and latest Mohave version. The process with a quick Imac wasn’t more than half a minute, but saving the image took more than a minute. (For me that’s kind of slow) .

BUT, as a photographer, my usual photos are in raw, (why would I keep them in JPG???) or even in TIFF? unless they’re from my fuji cameras.
Another point to take into account is that with Topaz Studio, I use my raw images, so if I would like to save a blurred photo, that would be my FIRST step, not my last one!

Guys, this is a very good idea, but it needs to be polished.

I don’t think I am buying it for the moment.

Best regards

Daniela.

1 Like

The 8GB graphics card on my iMac 2017 desktop is apparently not enough to handle Sharpen AI as a plug-in in Topaz Studio, causing Studio to crash.

Sharpen AI does work well as a standalone, delivering some very nice results.

However, it appears Sharpen AI strips the EXIF data from the saved image.

OldRadioGuy

Hi, how are you?
If , and as I tested in my Imac, it took around 7.5 GB or ram from my 64GB, it’s probable that upon opening both, studio and sharpen ai , the demand would be more RAM…
I guess TopazLabs needs to specify the latests needs of the product?