2020 iMac bricks when only using VAI

Ever since I updated Mac OS to Sonoma, TVAI bricks my Mac while converting. It seems to clip either the GPU or CPU I can’t tell but I do know the fan spins up quite a bit before it bricks my computer. I then need to hold the power button down to shut down the computer, it then takes about 20 seconds before it will be begin to reboot and the Mac feels very hot to the touch so I think it;s overheating the GPU. This was never an issue before Sonoma and I would let movies run overnight without any issue, this is specific to Sonoma and has only been an issue since upgrading. I even ran VAI version 2.6.4 and it still bricks but it takes much longer. I have attached my system profile so hopefully this helps diagnose the cause. At this point VAI is useless to me and I have been using for 2 years without issue.

Thank you

iMac.spx (7.8 MB)

I had Mac computers exclusively between 2008 and 2018. They all were great machines with a lot of power but not made for the hard work and often got mechanical problems after three years. I even had the first model of the 5 k iMac and that one ran hot - 99 °C CPU and 105 °C GPU - and loud when the single fan ramped up to only 2000 rpm. It was a hard decision for me in summer 2018 to go back to Windows, but for Video AI it was the right choice!

This isn’t really fitting here because:

1. as he said TVAI did run until Sonoma - so this is likely a software problem. And we’ll never know if it’s Apples or Topaz’ fault I guess.

2. Yes, that rig is quite slow / at the lowest end for TVAI - but this especially due to the use of “windows”/ standard PC hardware. You must compare Apples computers to Notebooks or mini-PCs as they used the same components due to their form factor.