Which encoder

hi, i am new to video ai. i am trying to increase resolution of a movie i have. it is 960x540 and i am enhancing it to full hd. question is which encoder i should use? i chose randomly h264 because it was giving me mp4 instead of mov. what are the differences between encoders? does it affect output quality?

H265 and 264 are lossy. They visibly degrade the image.
ProRes should not visibly degrade the image, but it yields a large file size. Not great for a final movie to view.
I don’t think anyone has even tried VP9 yet, but it’s what YouTube encodes to.
Personally, I always output to PNG, then encode to H265 later. (With a software encoder. TVAI only offers hardware encoders for H265. [They come out degraded and larger compared to the software encoders.]) Then I mix the audio, subtitles and chapters back into the final video.

3 Likes

Use the H.265 (auto: bitrate) in the TVAI settings, if this is your final file you want to play on devices.
the quality loss is not noticeable, and you get smaller file size compared to H.264 at the same quality level. ProRes is already diminishing return for playback.

If you planning editing the video later with some video editing tools after Topaz upscale, then use ProRes HQ. (the general Topaz best practice guidelines if you want to edit a video, is to edit your video with external tools 1st and use Topaz as the last step, so you might not need to edit the video Topaz if followed by their best practice)

regardless to what encoder you use H.264/H.265, you can select the output to MP4