What would be the result if I apply ALQ v.12 on original 480i video

Hi, I just want to upscale a low resolution video (original seems to be 480i) to 1080P. Compare different model and I think ALQ v.12 give the best result. My question is if I apply ALQ to an interlaced video. The output will be 1080i or 1080p? How to check if it is 480i or 480p, sorry for my limited knowledge about this.

I’m new to VEAI so appreciate all your advise.

It will be 1080p with some frames having scan lines in them.

Thanks a lot for your advise, should I 100% deinterlaced first, then ALQ or can I deinterlaced after I got 1080P output? Just for the best result, if multi pass is needed then I will try.

I did try 100% deinterlaced 1 pass, scan lines were gone but all other details like hair, faces quality worse than original. Please help.

Hallo,

wenn du von 480p auf 1080p upscalen willst müssen die Frames erstmal bereinigt werden. Also erst die 480p Frames deblocken / denoisen / deinterlacen, dabei die Auflösung beibehalten. Erst jetzt die neue Zieldatei auf 1080p upscalen mit einen AI Modell deiner Wahl.

Gruß Ronny

Vielen Dank Ronny, werde es nach deinem Kommentar versuchen

Prost

I’ve been using ffmpeg to deinterlace. It’s not the easiest to learn how to use, but it’s free.
Lately my work flow has been a little extreme: ffmpeg pass to change frame rate and or deinterlace and or split up.
VEAI pass of Artemis Medium Quality at 100% to clean the video.
VEAI pass to upscale. Gaia and Proteus models work much better on clean sources.
ffmpeg pass to put in H.265 for reasonable file size.
mkvtoolnix pass to join audio back in and merge split videos back together.

Just checked on ffmpeg site and that’s quite hard to understand for me but will try anyway. Your work flow is really extreme! and take truly long time to get the best result. I’m planning to upgrade my machine so could you please share your machine spec. I’ve still doubt which OS between windows and mac work best with VEAI.