VEAI 2080 TI vs 3070 vs 3080 vs 6800XT

Hi,

I’m a bit new to VEAI, and I’m on the verge of buying a new card, (Second Hand), with the above choices.
I’m looking for the best balance of price to performance.

2080 TI vs 3070 = more VRAM but the 3070 has faster tensor cores.

3080 vs 6800XT = May be faster and I’ve heard Nvidia works better with VEAI but the 6800XT has more VRAM but slower

So I’m a bit hear and there with the pros and cons of both cards and I’m coming from a 2080 Super Asus Strix OC

I recommend RTX 3080.

ok is it that much faster than the 6800 XT? I’m asking as the price will differ about 400-500 Euros

If you can get 6800XT at a cheaper price, then get 6800XT. But at the same price, go for 3080. The performance should be the same.

Not once did the 3070 out-perform the 2080-Ti during my own tests.
2080-Ti has always been 7.5% faster (or better still).

Someone here said, that the Cuda cores on the ‘Ampere’ 30XX cards are just a marketing strategy, one half of them are FP16 and the other half are FP32 Cuda cores. VEAI can only use one type at a time.

If you don’t have a history of using pre-1.7.0 VEAI and you can do without, go for the best new GPU you can afford. Having more VRAM is always better.

However, if you want to use the legendary old Gaia Computer Graphics (gcg-1.0.1) module with VEAI versions up to 1.6.1, then be aware that these old releases of the software are incompatible with RTX30XX cards (as well as with AMD cards).

1 Like

Hi All!

Thanks for your replies! then it looks like I’ll go with the RX 6800XT as this is can get for about 700-800 vs 1200-1400 Euros for the 3080

I’m Glad VEAI switched their methodology to better support AMD, I’m using Proteus AI by the way

1. 3080
  2. 2080Ti
  3. 3070
  4. 6800XT