Proteus vs Gaia CG

So I’ve been using the program for around 18 months now generally I use one of the 2 profiles mentioned but I’m increasing in favour of GAIA’s output for one simple reason… it doesn’t overly denoise and crush textures/detail. The biggest bugbear though is that it takes twice as long to process when compared to Proteus. Both models now make better use of my CPU and GPU and while Proteus has the benefit of being able to tweak it still does far too much denoising even when set to zero and the greater the upscale the more noticeable it is.
I usually use the Neat plugin in Resolve to denoise and sharpen footage after GAIA as it allow more control. Skin textures are particularly affected by the Proteus denoise going on in the background and starts to give that “plastic” look. It works for some surfaces; shiny metal for example, but flattening whole areas doesn’t’ work on everything. It’s a shame because being able to tweak between detail and sharpness can help a lot of upscales but it’s ruined by the over compensation of denoise which I have no control over. Can you please actually make the slider in Proteus equate to the amount of denoising it does instead of it doing background denoise and just allowing users to denoise more because that’s exactly how it appears right now. Also considering GAIA CG seems to be the closest thing to a pure upscale without too much else why does it take double the processing time? Surely this should be the quickest option of them all.

As a side note this idea of doubling up 2 models sounds great in theory as I could combine both GAIA and Proteus but my concern would still be that Proteus would cancel out the benefit of GAIA’s lack of denoising by then denoising it anyway… and just how long is running 2 models likely to take???