nVidia TDR crashes

"There seems to be quite a bit of discussion going on in various forums concerning these TDR/Application has been blocked/Display driver stopped responding/ errors for Windows 10. None of them seem to have come up with a stable/working fix. With this happening, it makes having a graphics card completely meaningless.

It seems that any workload on the GPU will trigger this, though I cannot be 100% sure seeing that nobody including myself has found a conclusive cause/fix for this issue. Many have claimed that it is a Windows 10 issue; again, I am not sure and I don’t think anybody else is either. I have been using Windows 10 for a few months now but this has only started to happen in recent weeks. When this begins to happen seems to differ from user to user.

Before applications started to crash I noticed a bit of distortion and a lot of blue/green pixels when running 3D apps.

I do not know and cannot confirm if this has anything to do with the actual problem."

This is a cut-and-paste from another forum - I have had my GeForce 2070 for 3 months now - and it is crashing when using PS and Studio! People seem clueless as to what to do about it!!! :frowning:

I have been online with nVidia support and they advised Creator Drivers for Application use - but they still crash - Photoshop is fine, but when I open Studio, the system crashes, and the cooling-fan goes into overdrive!!!

The TDR timeout, which defaults to 2 seconds, is a valuable layer of protection that stops the system from freezing and recovers to a functional desktop by resetting the card.

You can alter the settings in Windows 10 but it is not advisable because debugging on some GPUs will fail with a setting of less than 10 seconds. TDRs are also dependant on the GPU and debug builds of CUDA kernels will run more slowly and may require additional time to complete.