New release of Video AI has new issues for me with slow motion video

Hi All,

I upgraded to the current version of Video AI (V3.0.12) and created some 2x and 4x slow motion videos of 1080p 29.97 fps video. I kept the output video resolution and frame rate to original, no Stabilisation, Frame Interpolation to 2x or 4x, no Enhancement and no Grain. Set encoder to ProRes 422 LT, container to mov and audio to Auto.

I have used these setting previously to create buttery smooth slow motion videos from Topaz Video AI but this time I get these two issues:

• Using Apollo AI model - I get little pauses in the video about 5 frames every second. This is my first time using Apollo, so I have no history to see if this is a new issue or not.

• Using Chronos, I get a lot of glitching in the output video, I have used this model previously and not had this issue before.

Does anyone have similar experiences with slow motion video in Video AI? If so, do you know if a way to resolve these issues?

Cheers,
Paul

I just did a similar sounding video. I had to deinterlace it first, then I noticed it had a duplicate frame every fifth frame. I ran it through Chronos Fast interpolating to 59.94 FPS, but that preserved the duplicate frames, maybe even added more because of the higher frame rate.

Everything I read online is very confusing. It sounds like this is just standard NTSC DVD frame rate. Transcoding the video in ffmpeg with -r (Rate) set to 23.976 seems to drop the fifth frame correctly.

Thanks for your reply ForSerious. I am using digital video I shot at 1080p 29.97 fps, so I don’t need to de-interlace it. TopazAI is now creating 4 duplicate frames every 10th frame. It never used to do this, must be some sort of weird bug.

Are there duplicate frames in the original?