Initial down-sample for digital photos of prints

Sorry if this was previously suggested – this is my first time posting, and I didn’t immediately see anything related in the topic list…

I have a number of (digital) images of older family fotos, which I took using an iPhone from the printed photos. This may be too much of an ask, but after playing with the digital images around for a bit, I found that by first applying a down-scaling to the images and then using Photo AI, it did a better job than by trying to use the image that I already have, possibly because there is so much additional noise in the image that throws the AI models off.

For that purpose, I was wondering if (in an ideal world) Photo AI could detect from the loaded image what the “optimal source resolution is” (as part of the autopilot), and offer that as an initial/intermediary step prior to upscaling and recovery?

Great idea - we’ve heard this before, although I’m not sure if it’s in the Ideas forum. Would you mind sharing one of the images that would benefit from this? Can upload to our Dropbox if you don’t want to post it to the forum.

Hey Eric,

Thanks for getting back! I’ve uploaded a ZIP file with one image where I played around with. Depending on the “object” (or subject) in the image, different resolutions seem to work best.

I have to admit I do not know exactly what the source of the “interlacing” (like) artifact in the digital photo is – this one was taken quite a few years ago (with an older iPhone). Ultimately, my thinking goes in the direction of having a variety of “plugins” available that people can flexibly put into a “preprocessing pipeline” (including down-sampling, and other filter operations, which could be selective based on some kind of pattern recognition, to avoid having to do many passes with the same photo and later stitching together a final result manually).