GPU for Denoise AI, Sharpen AI, Gigapixel AI

Hi,
Just building a new PC mostly for Topaz standalone products (first time in 20 years!).

I started with i5-13600K, 32GB ram. then I ASSUMED that GTX 1660 TI would be more than enough.
I was wrong… The Sharpen & Gigapixel seem to be very GPU intensive.

Please tell me what GPU are you using and what you recommend for the above standalone programs.
I’m willing to spend $600 Canadian at the most.

Thanks,
Tom

This is a good resource for comparing GPU’s.

https://gpu.userbenchmark.com

I have been using an AMD RX570/4GB VRAM for a few years and the Topaz app perf is perfectly acceptable to me (even better since I recently upgraded the CPU as well). You should be able to get something stupendous for that much money.

Hi,

Thanks jgr00ms2! I’ve spent enough time on UserBenchmark researching.

Well, I’ve returned the GTX1660 TI (rank #111 on UB) to the store and bought a used RTX 3060 TI (rank #20 on UB) for $90 more (got lucky on that one).

I run some tests on all three standalone versions of Denoise/Gigapixel/Sharpen. Here are the results between the 2 GPUs (tested on i5-13600K w/32GB ram) for anyone interested:

Notes:

• All tests initially done with GPU enabled + High memory setting

• Amount of system RAM doesn’t seem to be important (~6GB used)

• Speed in Topaz Labs is all about the GPU

• My main objective with this new PC + GPU was to speed up the rendering of the images as I moved the square around the screen. The exporting isn’t much of a problem as I can do a batch export and go do something else.

• With the 3060 TI I started to see higher CPU utilization which is a good thing, suggesting that the 1660 TI was bottlenecking the CPU.

Results:

• Denoise AI render speed improved alot, 2-3 times. I’m happy about that as this is the program I tend to use the most out of the 3.

• Gigapixel AI render speed did improve but not as much as Denoise