Gigapixel Face Refinement vs Remini

Yesterday, Unmesh Dinda from PiXimperfect has talked about a APP that can enhance photo, it seem have a good result from his Youtube video.

So, I tried it out today. I installed the APP in simulator on my computer. I am still new to the APP, but after a few tests, it seem does good job in enlarging face on tiny photo.

Before & After:

Compare to Gigapixel:
1, Gigapixel 16x (4x two times) Face Refinement Off
adfaf_cr1

2, Gigapixel 16x (4x two times) Face Refinement On
adfaf_cr2

3, Remini APP
adfaf_cr3

3 Likes

I’m not sure what the point comparing GigaPixel to Remini is as it is a smartphone App and GigaPixel is used to enlarge images. I have also noticed that it is OK if there is only one face but it can get confused if there is more than one in the picture.

I understand that Gigapixel and Remini App are designed for different purpose. A smartphone APP will never replace Gigapixel.

Gigapixel is a great software, however it biggest weakness is enlarging tiny face. I thought enlarging tiny face is impossible because it lack information to regenerate the face detail. But I am surprise how Remini APP can do to faces.

I just tested a picture 220x220 pixel with 5 faces, the app detect all of them.
MuMu20201212175612_cr

Here is one of the face in the photo.

Original Crop:
images_cr3

Gigapixel 4x 4x Crop: (Face Refinement OFF):
images-V531-scale-4_00x-V531-scale-4_00x_cr1

Gigapixel 4x 4x Crop: (Face Refinement ON):
images-V531-scale-4_00x%20(1)-V531-scale-4_00x_cr2

Remini APP:
MuMu20201212181805_cr

And here is another face in the same photo.
Original Crop:
images_cr

Remini APP:
MuMu20201212175612_cr

And here is another face in the same photo.
images-V531-scale-4_00x-V531-scale-4_00x_cr

images-V531-scale-4_00x%20(1)-V531-scale-4_00x_cr

Remini APP:
MuMu20201212175657_cr

I had tested with an image with three faces but it only detected the one, could be because the colours etc.