Best Video Enhance AI choice for upscaling old WW2 newsreels from 480 to 1080p?

Hello everybody, I have a bunch of WW2 stock footage that I purchased from a stock footage company on mini-DV tapes in 480i29.97 SD format. I’m using Handbrake to apply de-interlace and de-telecine filters and to change the frame rate from 29.97i to 23.98p (or 23.976 to be more precise) since these newsreels were originally shot at 24fps. I’ve had great success with this part of my work flow.

My question for any of you who have upconverted old newsreel footage using Video Enhance AI, what do you recommend as the best choice for upscaling vintage 1930s and 40s footage from SD to full HD (from 480P23.98 to 1080P23.98)???

Thank you in advance.

I am no expert. But I have been using QTGMC with Avisynth+/VirtualDub and have had great results for deinterlacing (probably better than HB). But with double frame rate.
If you are not familiar with Avisynth or AviSynth+ it does have a bit of a learning curve but it is worth it.
This is my first post so I am not sure if I am allowed to reference material outside. If you are interested check out this video Deinterlacing with AVISynth and QTGMC Tutorial (Late 2020 Edition)

Once deinterlaced outside VEAI, I think the UpScale can be easily handled using VEAI.
The Proteus AI Model or the Aretmis AI Model should do a good job of upscaling. It is better to retain the same frame rate, unless you have other reasons to.

1 Like