Photographic Composite - Ps, Topaz DeNoise, Topaz Sharpen AI, Topaz Studio 2

I’m trying to embark on various photographic experiments using Ps CC 2020 and Topaz plugin products (new & “classic”), while indoors, to try to stretch beyond my typical photo style and not climb the walls.

Here’s an example of what I produced today by creating a still life composite in Ps, then post-processing it using Topaz AI Clear & DeNoise AI (for different types & areas of cleaning), Sharpen AI (with selective masking applied to exclude certain areas), Topaz Studio 2 and Topaz BW Effects (‘classic’ - to produce a combo platinum & more latte-colored [watered down Van Dyke Brown] monochrome toning finish. I am an amateur. Not a pro retoucher - I would have loved to do something better with wrt shadows, etc. on the spoon. But I did the best I can.

I enjoy mixing & matching Topaz plugins rather than using them straight. But they work either way. It depends on what someone wants to achieve. I tend toward keeping a photographic rather than illustrative look but at the same time strive to achieve a fine art photography gestalt.

I suppose, with this image, I’m hoping that everything comes up roses sooner rather than later (or else I’m hungry and frustrated stores don’t have the foods I usually like to eat in stock…). If anyone is bothered by that, pls avert your gentle eyes/keyboard.

Here’s what I started with:

And, here’s the after Ps CC & Topaz monochrome still life result:

3 Likes

Tony & Peter,

Thx so much for your “LIkes”!! Much appreciated. It took me a really long time creating this. I’m certainly not a pro retoucher. And, you and others here are so talented. I’m just trying new things while I have the time to do so and hoping to pick up new techniques to use in the future.