MacBook air m2 thermals question

Hi,

I’ve casually used Video Enhance over the past year. I’m not a professional and only use it for personal hobby projects (movie/video upscaling). Typically i’m experimenting with 1080p → 4k with Proteus. Recently i’ve been considering downsizing my pc to a Mac. I’m especially interested in purchasing a Macbook Air M2, but upgrading the ram to 16GB and the gpu to 10 cores. Video Enhance would really be the only high demand application i will ocassionally run.

My question is for people who have run Video Enhance AI on their macbook air m2. Does it thermal throttle significantly while processing a video for many hours (anywhere from say 4 hours to a day)? Are there any concerns about heat in general while running it?

I like the portability and fan-less design of the Air, since i will be frequently moving it around my house and connecting to different monitors and tvs. I’m torn on whether i should bite the bullet and go up to the pro 14 m2 for the better performance and maybe less wear and tear on the computer.

I have a new M2 MacBook Air. I have a utility that displays a bunch of sensor readings, including various temperatures and power draw. My 13.6" Air has 24GB integrated memory and 2TB SSD - it was maxed out when I bought it.

Right now, I’m running VAI on a short video segment. Activity monitor shows GPU usage at 96-98%. The bottom of the case is warm, not hot. Other core temps range between 165°F - 172°F.

Power draw indicates 24.91 Watts maximum. This is what I see immediately after the model starts running, and I don’t see any reduction in power draw as the processor warms up. I take that to indicate there’s no thermal throttling.