Do PC gaming computers make good graphics computers?

I’m studying the possibility of upgrading my (Windows) desktop machine to something capable of handling graphics in a very fast way. I see a lot of gaming computers advertised - some even have dual video graphics cards - so I’m wondering if this is the same sort of machine that a graphics design professional would choose?

(If you don’t mind, could we please keep discussion limited to non-Mac Windows driven computers - this would be for us that are too vested in Windows software to buy into a new learning curve)

The difference between a normal PC and a “Gaming” PC is purely a higher end discrete GPU (Graphics card) and yes they do handle graphics very well depending on the GPU.

Search on the internet and see what comparisons they are, typically though a graphics design professional would choose something like a Wacom Tablet such as a MobileStudio Pro or a Cintiq Pro …

I would say ‘Yes most definitely’. I have a ‘Medion’ which is superb and handles all my needs as far as Photography is concerned, using PS and Lightroom with Topaz and the Nik collection (now Google) plug ins.

I would also look at PCs designed for high end video editing. These programs require a lot of processing power and top end video cards.

I use a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 video card which has 4GB of memory.
I believe it was marketed towards gamers, but it’s working very well for photo editing.

Please count me in that category. :smile:

There are a few rules about a new PC that seem universal:

• Fastest CPU you can afford
  • Most on-board memory you can afford
  • Biggest (and fastest) HDD you can afford
  • Best (and fastest) GPU and dedicated memory you can afford